What’s Hot/What’s Not: November 2010

As we reach the middle of November, let’s take a look at some of the latest trends and stories that have affected our lives and touched our hearts.

*

What’s HOT
Love is in the air! Kurt’s got a cute new beau, Blair and Chuck have been more or less back together, and Pam and Jim are still going strong. TV romance has never been so wonderful.

What’s NOT
People who choose ignorant slurs over the love. Grow up!

*

What’s HOT

Thanksgiving is fast approaching!

What’s NOT
It’s smack dab in the middle of the worst season ever.

*

What’s HOT
Feeling vintage and listening to oldies — REO Speedwagon, anyone?

What’s NOT
Watching vintage music videos. (I’m not sure which incarnation of the Hoff is the worst!)

 

*

What’s HOT
Getting all dressed up for the midnight showing of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1!

What’s NOT
The fact that there’s only one installment left after this!

*

What’s HOT
Seeing a place that’s familiar to you in the news for something harmless and mildly innovative.

What’s NOT
Seeing a place that’s familiar to you in the news for something embarrassing and awful.

*

What’s HOT
Having fun with Star Wars and stormtroopers.

What’s NOT
Those who don’t embrace the wonderful dorkiness that is Star Wars.

 

*

What’s HOT
The upcoming release of Tangled, the new Rapunzel movie, for all of the Disney lovers out there!

What’s NOT
Being the oldest non-parents in the theater!

*

What’s HOT
Cher’s commentaries on celebrity and non-celebrity life.

What’s NOT
The fact that any of the people she’s talking about are actually famous.

*

What’s HOT
Ryan Reynolds, according to People Magazine. And, okay, according to me.

What’s NOT
His high school quotes. What does forever really mean, anyway? :P

*

 

8 comments

  1. I wish I was going to the midnight showing of HP but, alas, I am not. I am going to see it next week though. I’m so sad that there is only one installment left too. I’m kind of looking forward to it though only because I will still talk about it twenty years from now :)

    1. The movie was amazing! I won’t spoil anything, but I’m sure you will love it. I saw it at midnight and really enjoyed it… I felt like it was possibly the best so far (albeit very dark). I hope you enjoy it! I think it’s definitely a series of movies I’ll make my kids watch one day :)

  2. lol if everything works out, I’m going to watch “Tangled” this weekend. =P

    However, it sucks a bit that Disney chickened out and ditched the movie’s original — and rightful! — title “Rapunzel” to make the project seem more hip and ‘less girly.’ It seems that after The Princess and the Frog disappointed in theaters, Disney has really lost confidence in the fairy tale/musical brand that it once held up with pride:

    http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-et-1121-tangled-20101121,0,6692508.story?page=1

    I mean, I’m not saying that Disney should be making movies like this all the time lol (it would get boring if they did), but to call it quits completely after “Tangled” is released — like the article explains — is pretty sad. =(

    1. That’s so exciting! My friend and I plan to see it when we come back from vacation next week :) I agree — it’s sad that they had to completely rebrand a fairy tale just to get boys to go to the theaters. I’ve heard that will be the last one but I still have to read the article. That makes me so sad! Like many others, I grew up with Disney princess stories… Belle was around for almost as long as I was! If they stop making these movies, they will be abandoning a huge market.

      1. >>>>>>>”That’s so exciting! My friend and I plan to see it when we come back from vacation next week”

        I hope you two like it! I just saw it, and seriously : REALLY awesome! =D

        In terms of visuals, I think it probably has the most beautiful look of any CG-animated movie I’ve ever seen.

        In terms of story, I won’t spoil anything, but the story is definitely much more classic Disney-style, heartfelt, and meaningful than the slapstick advertising would have us believe. The opening prologue makes it clear right from the start. =)

        And the romantic relationship in the movie is a beautiful journey to witness; while the love story may not be quite as powerful as the Belle/Beast relationship is, it is still great to witness how Rapunzel and ‘Flynn’ find each other, need each other, bring out the best in each other, and save each other… literally and figuratively.

      2. I am so glad to hear that. I had heard that a lot of that was for the marketing and that it would be way more traditional than the previews let on, so I’m glad that seems to be true still :) As cynical as I can be at times, deep down I’m a sucker for a good love story, and I can’t help but smile at all the fairy tale endings. I can’t wait to see how they portray their romance, especially since a lot of the original fairy tales don’t do much of that at all.

        I’m so excited to see it :) Glad you enjoyed it!

  3. >>>>>>”Love is in the air! Kurt’s got a cute new beau…”

    lol it really seems as if the GLEE writers and producers have answered many of the fans’ wishes this season, haha: Kurt with real potential love interests now, more of Heather Morris’s adorable awesomeness, Harry Shum Jr. dancing shirtless (seriously, who would have thought that one would ever come to pass for the fans, lol), etc.

    1. I agree! This season has been awesome… although more of shirtless Harry Shum Jr. would be even more awesome! Hahaha. This season still has its bizarre moments, but part of it seems more real at the same time. The characters are really developing.

Leave a Reply

